Posted on

Our Sea.

She was loved but depressed
A guaranteed mess.
I was only sixteen
A fool with my dreams.
And we loved late at night
Those twilights and fights
By the sea

We held hands in the dawn
and we needed no one
made love in the hall
and cried in the fall

when the leaves turned to brown
and the sun lost its crown
by the sea…

Well I thought I was tough
but love wasn’t enough
I could not repair
my baby’s despair

and she took her own life
in the warm morning light
by the sea

well now I’m hard pressed
to think of the best
I’ll hide in the trees
tears fall on my sleeves

and I’ll stay here alone
wait for you at home
by the sea…

One response to “Our Sea.

  1. pops95 ⋅

    Lovely poem

Leave a Reply

