Posted on

Red

I wanted to be surrounded by a forbidden shade
No one paints their room red
You cannot easily find red carpets or lamp shades or curtains in the store
People frown if you tell them it’s what you want
Such a bright color isn’t “tasteful”, not for a home
Not for the place that you come home to every day and share with others
But I did it anyway. Against everyone’s advice.
I put on an old shirt and I poured the paint in the pan
Tore a soft new roller out of its wrapping
Doused its cream-colored newness in the thick crimson
And pushed the first stroke against the white plaster with all my might
Forced with both arms the screaming viscous color onto the surface
No one would help me destroy the space I call my own
So I gladly do it on my own.
I brushed my forehead with my forearm, sweating now
Job about half way done
Already I notice the paint coagulating in the corners
Darker streaks than what I’d planned
Impulse can be awfully messy

 

Leave a Reply

